Gov. Jerry Brown

Dear Governor Brown:
We want to bring to your attention a serious problem we see with the 9-1-1 system in California.

Read More
Letter to

Jerry Brown

9-1-1 Dysfunction Summaries

A summary of the articles referenced here. Full text of the articles are available by clicking "Read More" link for each article.

Read More
9-1-1 Dysfunction

Summaries

lights and sirens

A common tenet in emergency medical services (EMS) is that faster response equates to better patient outcome...

Read More
Prehospital Emergency Care

RESPONSE TIME AND MORTALITY

pre arrival instructions

Each year, millions of people around the world experience out-of-hospital cardiac arrest (OHCA), a condition characterized by unexpected cardiovascular collapse.

Read More
Circulation

Prearrival Instructions

OHCA

[D]ecreased response time interval and the use of two-tier rather than one-tier EMS systems may each be associated with significantly greater survival.

Read More
Annals of EM

Effectiveness of EMS in OHCA

stopwatch

The introduction of technology aimed at reducing the response times of emergency medical services has been one of the principal innovations over the last several decades.

Read More
Health Economics

Do Response Times Matter?

Member Information
  • Documents
  • READ - Bylaws
  • READ - Amendments
  • Position Papers
    • READ - VAD Guidelines (4/25/14)
    • READ - AED Use in Children (1/9/06)
    • READ - Response Time Intervals (9/22/98)
  • READ - Uniform Treatment Protocols - SF EMS

3-18-14 | Los Angeles

Westin Los Angeles Hotel
5400 West Century Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90045

5-27-14 | San Diego

Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4000 Coronado Bay Rd.
San Diego, CA 92118

9-16-14 | San Diego

Kona Kai Resort, Spa & Marina
1551 Shelter Island Dr.
San Diego, CA 92106

12-2-14 | San Francisco

Marines’ Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

Mar 19, 2013, Los Angeles

May 28, 2013, San Diego


Sep 17, 2013, San Diego

Dec 3, 2013, San Francisco

Mar 20, 2012, Los Angeles

Jun 19, 2012, Sacramento


Sep 18, 2012, San Diego

Dec 4, 2012, San Francisco

Member Dues & Payments
Pay EMDAC member dues and other fees associated with membership

EMS Fellow

$ 50

  • Physician who is directly or actively involved in an EMS Fellowship program

Assoc. Member

$ 250

  • Physician who is a former active member
  • Health officer with responsibility for a local Emergency Medical Services agency
  • Base hospital medical director
  • Medical director of training agencies and service agencies

EMDAC Member

$ 250

  • Physician who is directly or actively involved in the administration, development or management of an Emergency Medical Services agency
  • Medical directors
  • Assistant medical directors
  • Associate medical directors
  • Deputy medical directors

Guest Lunch

$ 50

  • Pay for EMDAC meeting lunches by clicking below.

EMDAC Officers

Greg Gilbert, MD

President

Member Image

Joe Barger, MD

Secretary

Karl Sporer, MD

Treasurer

VACANT

At-large
(Active Member)

David Shatz, M.D.

David Shatz, MD

At-large
(Associate Member)

  • Ken Miller - Chair
  • John Brown
  • Eric Rudnick
  • Ben Squire
  • Ken Stiver
  • Mark Luoto
  • Hal Renollet - Chair
  • Ken Stiver
  • Bruce Haynes
  • Karl Sporer
  • Karl Sporer - Chair
  • Greg Gilbert
  • Joe Barger
  • Angelo Salvucci
  • Eric Rudnick
  • John Brown
  • Greg Gilbert
  • Karl Sporer
  • Tom Ronay
  • Bruce Haynes
  • Dustin Ballard
  • Reza Vaezazizi
  • Ken Miller
EMDAC Members | LEMSA Medical Directors
The Mission of EMDAC is to provide leadership and expert opinion in the medical oversight, direction and coordination of Emergency Medical Services for the people of the State of California
Karl Sporer
Alameda County

Karl Sporer, M.D., FACEP, FACP
EMS Medical Director
1000 San Leandro Blvd.
Ste. 100
San Leandro, CA 94577
(510) 618-2050

Jim Andrews
Central California EMS Agency
(Fresno, Kings, Madera, Tulare)

Jim Andrews, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
1221 Fulton Mall
PO Box 11867
Fresno, CA 93775
(559) 445-3387

Mark Luoto
Coastal Valleys EMS Agency
(Sonoma & Mendocino)

Mark Luoto, M.D., FACEP
EMS Medical Director (Sonoma)
475 Aviation Blvd.
Suite 200
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
(707) 565-6501

Joe Barger
Contra Costa County

Joe Barger, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
1340 Arnold Drive
Suite 126
Martinez, CA 94553
(925) 646-4690

David Brazzel
El Dorado County

Dr. David Brazzel, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
415 Placerville Dr.
Ste J
Placerville, CA 95667
(530) 621-6500

Bruce Haynes
Imperial County

Bruce Haynes, M.D.
935 Broadway Street
El Centro, CA 92243
Bruce.Haynes@sdcounty.ca.gov
(760) 482-2904

Reza Vaezazizi
Inland Counties EMS Agency
(San Bernardino, Inyo, Mono)

Reza Vaezazizi, M.D., FACEP
1425 South "D" Street
San Bernardino, CA 92415
RVaezazizi@cao.sbcounty.gov
(909) 388-5823

Robert Barnes
Kern County

Robert Barnes, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
1400 H St
Bakersfield, CA 93301
barnesr@co.kern.ca.us
(661) 868-5200

Bill Koenig
Los Angeles County

Bill Koenig, M.D., FACEP
10100 Pioneer Blvd., #200
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670
wkoenig@dhs.lacounty.gov
(562) 347-1600

Dustin Ballard
Marin County

Dustin Ballard, M.D., FAAEM
899 Northgate Dr., #104
San Rafael, CA 94903
DBallard@marincounty.org
(415) 473-3057

Ajinder Singh
Merced County
Assoc. EMS Medical Director

Ajinder Singh, MD, CPE
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Mercy Medical Center Merced, CA
Chief Compliance Officer, VEP
(209) 233-1467

James Stubblefield
Monterey County

James Stubblefield, M.D.,FACEP, FAAEM
1270 Natividad Road
Salinas, CA 93906
stubblefieldji@co.monterey.ca.us
(831) 755-4942
(831) 755-5013

Kevin Mackey
Mountain Valley EMS Agency
(Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Stanislaus)

Kevin Mackey, M.D., FACEP
1101 Standiford Ave #D1
Modesto, CA 95350
drmackey@mvemsa.com
(209) 529-5085

Jim Pointer
Napa County EMS

Jim Pointer, M.D.
2334 Old Sonoma Road
Building G
Napa, CA 94559
Jep40@att.net
(707) 253-4341

Ken Stiver
North Coast EMS Agency
(Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake)

Ken Stiver, M.D.
3340 Glenwood Ave.
Eureka, CA 95501
krs1147@aol.com
(707) 445-2081
Cell: (707) 832-3734

Eric M. Rudnick
Northern California EMS

Eric M. Rudnick, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
1890 Park Marina Drive, Suite 200
Redding, CA 96001-0961
(530) 229-3979
erudnick@norcalems.org

Samuel J. Stratton
Orange County

Samuel J. Stratton, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
405 West Fifth Street # 301A
Santa Ana, CA 92701
sstratton@ochca.com
Phone (714) 834-2824

David Van Stralen
Riverside County

David Van Stralen, M.D.
PO Box 7600
Riverside, CA 92513
dvstralen@rivcocha.org
(951) 358-5029

Hernando Garzon
Sacramento County

Hernando Garzon, M.D., FACEP
9616 Micron Ave, #635
Sacramento, CA 95827
garzonh@saccounty.net
(916) 875-9753

Dave Ghilarducci
San Benito County

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D.
1111 San Felipe Rd., #102
Hollister, CA 95023
daveghil@mac.com
(831) 636-4066

Dave Ghilarducci
Santa Cruz County

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D.
1080 Emeline Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
daveghil@mac.com
(831) 454-4000

Bruce Haynes
San Diego County

Bruce Haynes, MD
6255 Mission Gorge Road0
San Diego, CA 92120
Bruce.Haynes@sdcounty.ca.gov
(619) 285-6429

John Brown
City and County of San Francisco County

John Brown, MD, MPA, FACEP
30 Van Ness, #3300
San Francisco, CA 94102
John.Brown@sfgov.org
(415) 487-5034

Richard Buys
San Joaquin County

Richard Buys, M.D.
PO Box 220
French Camp, CA 95231
richnb@softcom.net
(209) 468-6818

Thomas G. Ronay
San Luis Obispo County

Thomas G. Ronay, M.D.
2180 Johnson Ave, 2nd Fl
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
tronay@sloemsa.org
(805) 546-8728

Gregory H. Gilbert
San Mateo County

Gregory H. Gilbert, M.D., FAAEM
225 37TH Avenue
San Mateo, CA 94403
ghgilbert@stanford.edu
(650) 573-2564

Eric M. Rudnick
Santa Clara County

Eric M. Rudnick, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
976 Lenzen Avenue, #1200
San Jose, CA 95126
Eric.Rudnick@phd.sccgov.org

Troy Falck
Sierra-Sacramento Valley EMS Agency

Troy Falck, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
5995 Pacific St.
Rocklin, CA 95677
troy.falck@ssvems.com
(916) 625-1700

Aaron Bair
Solano County

Aaron Bair, MD, MSc
275 Beck Ave., MS5-240
Fairfield, CA 94533
aebair@ucdavis.edu
(707) 784-8155

Michael L. MacLean
Tulare County

Michael L. MacLean, M.D.
1062 South K St.
Tulare, CA 93274
(559) 685-2500

Todd Stolp
Tuolumne County

Todd Stolp, M.D.
20111 Cedar Road North
Sonora, CA 95370
ststolp@co.tuolumne.ca.us
(209) 533-7460

Angelo Salvucci
Ventura County

Angelo Salvucci, M.D.
2220 E. Gonzalez Rd. #130
Oxnard, CA 93036
salvucci@silcom.com
(805) 981-5304

David Barnes
Yolo County

David Barnes, MD
137 N Cottonwood St., Suite 2601
Woodland, CA 95695
dbarnes@ucdavis.edu
Phone (530) 666-8645

Ken Miller
Orange County
Assoc. EMS Medical Director

Ken Miller, MD, PhD
405 West Fifth Street # 301A
Santa Ana, CA 92701
KenMiller@ocfa.org
Phone (714) 573-6073

Associate Members

Mark Bason-Mitchell, M.D.
Marin County Fire Dept.
33 Castle Rock Ave. Woodacre, CA 94973
(415) 499-6717
mitchlacer@comcast.com

Peter Benson, MD
Contra Costa County Fire Dept.
2010 Geary Rd, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523
(925) 930-5500
peterbenson@cep.com

Evan Bloom, MD
Falck Ambulance EMS Medical Director
Suite 105, 5880 Commerce Blvd, Rohnert Park, CA 94928
(855) 325-2562
evanbloom@cep.com

David Chase, MD, FACEP
Ventura County Fire Dept.
165 Durley Avenue
Camarillo, CA 93010
David.Chase@ventura.org
(805) 389-9710

Peter Dsouza, MD
Stanford Life Flight
300 Pasteur Dr M121 MC 5119 Stanford, CA 94305
(650) 723-6576
pdsouza@stanford.edu

Dave Duncan, M.D.
CALFIRE & CalStar
1416 9th Street
9th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 653-5123

Gregory Dunnavant, MD
California Parks
1416 9th St
Sacramento, CA 95814-5511
(916) 653-6995
Grd556@att.net

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D., FACEP
AMR Santa Cruz, Monterey, San Benito
268 Calvin Place
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 334-0271
daveghil@mac.com

Jay Goldman, M.D.
Kaiser Permanente
Ambulance Services
Jay.goldman@kp.org

Senai Kidane, MD, FACEP
Paramedics Plus
575 Marina Boulevard
San Leandro, CA 94577
(510) 746-5700
skidane@paramedicsplus.com

Kristi L. Koenig, MD, FACEP, FIFEM
UC Irvine, Center for Disaster Medical Sciences
kkoenig@uci.edu
(714) 456-6789

Angelica Loza, MD
Glendale Fire Dept.
421 Oak St, Glendale, CA 91204
(818) 548-4814
Angieloza3@gmail.com



Kristopher Lyon, MD
San Luis Obispo Sheriff’s Office
1585 Kansas Ave, San Luis Obispo, CA 93406
(805) 781-4540
lyonmd@gmail.com

Garry McCalla, MD
REACH Air
6151 Freeport Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95822
(916) 399-2092
Gary.Mccalla@reachair.com

Mary Mercer, MD
UCSF/SF General Hospital
500 Parnassus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94143
(415) 476-9000
Mary.mercer@ucsf.edu

Howie Michaels, M.D.
San Jose Fire Dept.
528 Tully Rd
San Jose
(408) 794-6950

Joe Nakagawa, MD
Medical Director, McCormick Ambulance Co
Tactical Medicine, Hawthorne Police Department
jnakagawa@gmail.com

Joseph Ryan, M.D.
SEMSA
630 Preakness Court
Reno, NV
josephlryan@att.net

David Shatz, M.D.
Sacramento Metro Fire Dept.
10545 Armstrong Ave #200
Sacramento, CA
(916) 859-4300
David.shatz@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Ben Squire, M.D.
Pasadena Fire Dept.
215 N. Marengo Avenue, Suite 195
Pasadena, CA 91101
(626) 744-4675
benjaminsquire@gmail.com

Gary Tamkin, M.D.
CHP
3165 Gold Valley Dr, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742
(916) 861-1333
gtamkin@icloud.com

Bill Teufel, MD, FACEP
Medical Director Emeritus





Steve Tharratt, MD, FACEP
Medical Director Emeritus





Atilla Uner, MD, MPH, FAAEM, FACEP
Reach Air Medical Services
UCLA Center for Prehospital Care
PO Box 1676
Littlerock, CA 93543-4238
auner@ucla.edu

Jack Wood, D.O.
National College of Technical Instruction
333 Sunrise Ave. #500
Roseville, CA 95661

Clement Yeh, MD, FACP
EMS Medical Director
San Francisco Fire Department
Clement.Yeh@emergency.ucsf.edu

Fellow Members

Wajdan Allassaf, MD
UCI Fellow
wajdan.alassaf@gmail.com

Faisal Almazroua, MD
UCI Fellow
almarzroua@gmail.com

Justin Lemieux
Stanford Fellow
jlemieux@ucsd.edu

Yuko Nakajima
UCSD Fellow
ynakajima@ucsd.edu

Dipesh Patel, MD
Harbor UCLA Fellow
dipeshPatelMD@gmail.com

Brett Rosen, MD
Harbor UCLA Fellow
brosen@emedharbor.edu

Stephen Sanko, MD
LAFD, LAC + USC Fellow
stephen_sanko@yahoo.com

Brian Savino, MD
UCSF Fellow
Paul.Savino@ucsf.edu

Cal Chiefs Reps

Cathy Ord
Cal Chiefs South

Mike Giannini
Cal Chiefs North

Contact Us